• 0

    BikeWise’s guide to different motorcycle license grades

    Posted by on September 4, 2011 | Categories: Blog

    There are three categories of motorcycle licence in the UK. These are depicted by the letters P, A1, and A and carry age as well as riding restrictions. Here we explain what these mean.

    Category P
    This can be applied for at 16. It entitles riders who have passed their CBT to ride mopeds with a 50cc engine or less and a maximum speed not exceeding 50km/h.

    Category A1
    This can be obtained at age 17. It entitles holders, who must pass their full bike test, to ride a light motorcycle with a 125cc engine and a power output of less than 14.6bhp.

    Category A
    This has two different meanings depending on whether a rider is younger or older than 21.
    Category A entitles riders who are aged 17 or older and have passed their full bike test, to ride a bike which is restricted to 33bhp, and has a power to weight ratio of 0.16kW/kg. Or a motorcycle combination with the same restrictions.
    If a rider is aged 21 and has passed his Direct Access test or held an A1 entitlement for two years, category A entitles him to ride any size motorcycle with or without a sidecar.

    To learn more about the UK bike test, click here to read BikeWise’s guide.

Join now to our Newsletter

Get the lastest news of BrandMedia